Saturday, October 15, 2022 – 7:30 PM

Donato Cabrera, conductor
– Nicolas Kendall, violin
– Charles Yang, violin
– Ranaan Meyer, double bass

SAMUEL BARBER  Essay No.2, Op.17
VIRGIL THOMSON  The Plow That Broke the Plains Suite
AARON COPLAND Appalachian Spring Suite

Bluegrass, folk and hymn-like melodies represent the sounds of a vast American landscape in this beautifully crafted program.  Hear Barber’s popular one movement orchestral work titled Essay No. 2, followed by Higdon’s Smoky Mountains inspired Concerto 4-3 filled with offbeats, open strings and slides.   The orchestra continues through the High Plains in Thomson’s film score, The Plow That Broke the Plains Suite and finishes the American tour with Copland’s inspirational Appalachian Spring Suite.

Currently, this concert is available for purchase in our Full 9 Series and our Classic 6 Series subscription packages.

For more information, call LVP Patron Services at 702.462.2008 or email


Getting Here

The Smith Center

361 Symphony Park Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89106

361 Symphony Park Avenue

361 Symphony Park Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89106, USA