Close this window
Buy TicketsHome
saturday, april 25, 2015, 7:30 P.M.

Masterworks V

100 Years of Music

Las Vegas Philharmonic
Donato Cabrera conductor
Joyce Yangpiano


The Smith Center
Pre-concert conversation begins promptly at 6:45 p.m.

Buy Tickets

Adams The Chairman Dances
Rachmaninoff Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5

Music Director Donato Cabrera completes his first Masterworks Series with a program featuring composers over a one hundred-year span including the stunning keyboard showcase of Rachmaninoff's 24 variations based on Paganini's Caprices for violin to be performed by thrilling young pianist Joyce Yang. Iconic American composer John Adams', The Chairman Dances, a "foxtrot for orchestra" opens the program and the series closes in stunning style with Tchaikovsky's lush Fifth Symphony.

Other Masterworks Series
Masterworks I
Saturday, September 27, 2014, 7:30pm
Introducing Maestro Cabrera

Masterworks II
Saturday, November 22, 2014, 7:30pm
Great European Mastery

Masterworks III
Saturday, January 10, 2015, 7:30pm
Rising Star

Masterworks IV
Saturday, March 7, 2015, 7:30pm
Cabrera Conducts Mendelssohn & Schumann