Close this window
Buy TicketsHome
saturday, March 8, 2014, 7:30 P.M.

Masterworks IV

Rising Star

David Lockington, conductor
Alexander Schimpf, piano


The Smith Center
Pre-concert conversation begins promptly at 6:45 p.m.
Buy Tickets

Program Notes

MUSSORGSKY Prelude to Khovanshchina, "Dawn Over the Moscow River"
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23
SIBELIUS Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 43

Winner of the prestigious 2011 Cleveland Piano Competition and first prize winner of the 2009 International Beethoven Competition in Vienna, this season’s Rising Star soloist German pianist Alexander Schimpf will perform Tchaikovsky’s revered Piano Concerto No. 1 in a program conducted by David Lockington.

Other Masterworks Series
Masterworks I
Saturday, September 28, 2013, 7:30pm
Operatic Love

Masterworks II
Saturday, November 23, 2013, 7:30pm
Love of Country

Masterworks III
Saturday, January 18, 2014, 7:30pm
Battle Born - Nevada Proud!

Masterworks V
Saturday, April 26, 2014, 7:30pm
Love Around the World